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LIEN SALE REQUIREMENTS
NRS 108, 487, 706 and NAC 108 and 487

Only Nevada licensed automobile wreckers, tow car operators, garages, storage facilities, trailer parks, body shops and
salvage pools may process a lien sale to recover costs and/or expenses. The Lien Claimant assumes all responsibility by
signing the Lien Sale Affidavit. The Automobile Wrecker and Tow Car Operator Guide, Section V, Lien Sales provides
details on the lien sale requirements and is available online at http://www.dmvnv.com/pdfforms/wreckertow.pdf.
Incomplete or incorrect lien sale packets will not be processed and will be returned to the lien claimant.

The Notice of Lien Sale must be submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Titles Section at least 7 business days
before lien sale NAC 108.100.

Lien claimants must make every reasonable attempt and use all resources reasonably necessary, as evidenced by written
documentation, to obtain the identity of the owner and any other necessary information from the agency charged with the
registration of the motor vehicle in this State or any other state. NRS 706.4479

Complete the Lien Sale Registration Certification (VP-201) and give to the buyer to register the vehicle. This form is not
required when the purchaser is a wrecker or the lien claimant.

Complete the Lien Sale Affidavit (VP-147), all signatures must be original, must be submitted within 30 days of sale NAC
108.110.

All lien sales must include the following documents in the lien sale packet submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

1. The completed vehicle Appraisal Report for Abandoned Vehicles form VP -161, completed by a DMV appraiser. This appraisal
must be completed by DMV appraiser before certified letters are sent to the registered owners and/or legal owners. Not required
when the vehicle is abandoned as a result of traffic accident, arrest, or non-abandoned situations.

2. Submit the appropriate title fee. The title fee is $29.25; the salvage title fee is $11.00. There has been a Technology fee
associated to each transaction. If you are a Nevada licensed Wrecker the Salvage title is free of charge.

3. A Vehicle Inspection Certificate (VP-15) is required. The Appraisal Report for Abandoned Vehicle or Junk Certificate (VP-161) is
acceptable in place of the Vehicle Inspection Certificate VP-15. When the business is licensed by DMV the Lien Sale Affidavit VP-
147 and the Lien Sale Registration Certification VP-201 is acceptable in place of the Vehicle Inspection Certificate VP-15.

4. The registered and legal owners must be notified within 21 days of tow if tow was requested by law enforcement within 15 days if
requested by anyone else NRS 706.4479. Include the certified attempts to contact current registered and legal owners. The
attempt to contact must include: the location of where the vehicle is being stored, whether the storage is in a locked building,
fenced area or in an unsecured open area, charges for towing and storage, date and time the vehicle was placed in storage, the
actions the registered and or legal owner may take to recover the vehicle, and the opportunity to rebut the presumptions.

5. Proof of the newspaper publication that ran for three consecutive weeks must also be included. Publication is not required for a
lien sale when DMV appraiser has determined the value to be under $500.

Documentation is required to show how your business acquired the vehicle.

A lien for Abandoned Vehicle or Towing requires a tow bill or private property release. If the tow was a result of
accident, the tow driver must write “accident” on tow bill or the reason for tow. If the tow is a result of law enforcement
impound an impound report from the law enforcement agency is required. If the lien is transferred to a garage, an
Abandoned Vehicle Lien Transfer VP-262 is required.

A lien for Accessories, Supplies, or Repair can only be submitted by a registered garage or a licensed body shop and
requires a work order that lists the VIN and has the customer’s signature.

A lien for Storage can only be submitted by a licensed storage facility, salvage pool, wrecking yard, trailer park, tow yard
or a registered garage and requires a storage agreement that lists the VIN and has the customer’s signature. Garage
storage requires an “Abandoned Vehicle Lien Transfer” completed by the tow company unless the storage was included
in a mechanics lien. Storage charges may not exceed 90 days NRS 487.270.
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