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Illegal Per Se 
“Illegal per se” means that the operation of a vehicle 
by a person with a blood alcohol content (BAC) at 
or above the legally defined threshold constitutes an 
offense of impaired driving in and of itself. Nevada’s 
blood alcohol limit is .08 and .04 for commercial 
drivers. Note that these limits are only guides. Driv-
ers can be arrested and convicted for DUI with a 
lower BAC reading or for driving under the influence 
of controlled or prohibited substances.
(NRS 484C.110)

Chemical Tests
Failure to submit to a 
breath, blood or urine 
test as directed by 
a police officer re-
sults in a driver’s li-
cense revocation of 
at least one year. A 
blood sample can 
be drawn involun-
tarily if the officer 
obtains a warrant 
or court order.
(NRS 484C.150, 
484C.160, 484C.200, 2015 AB 67)

DUI Laws

How to Spot a Drunk Driver and What to Do 
These warning signs should be your signal to take 
down a licence plate number and vehicle description 
to report to the proper authorities. Do not attempt 
to stop or follow the vehicle. 
•	Weaving, swerving, wide turns, straddling lanes
•	Sudden stops, delayed starts, driving too slowly
•	Rapid acceleration or deceleration
•	Driving with headlights off at night 
•	Appearing to be drunk – drinking in vehicle, face 

close to windshield, lack of peripheral vision

Local Resources
Stop DUI 
Las Vegas – (702) 456-7867 | www.stopdui.org
Northern Nevada DUI Task Force 
Carson City – (775) 883-4715 | www.nndtf.org

Below are penalties for a typical DUI first offense. 
Penalties for subsequent convictions are harsher. A 
third DUI within seven years or a DUI which involves 
death or substantial bodily harm are felony offenses.

DUI Penalties
Criminal
•	Arrest
•	Vehicle Impounded
•	Two days to six months in jail or community  

service
•	Fine $400 to $1,000
•	Chemical Test Fee $60
•	DUI School or Substance Abuse Treatment
•	Victim Impact Panel
Driver License
•	License revoked for 90 days
•	$121 Reinstatement Fee
•	$35 Victims Compensation Civil Penalty
•	$42.25 Driver License Fee + $26 Testing Fee
•	DMV Tests – Vision, Knowledge, possibly Skills
•	SR-22 Certificate of Liability Insurance required for 

three years
A driver license revocation is a separate action from 
any criminal case. Motorists may appeal a revocation 
through the DMV Office of Administrative Hearings.
License reinstatement is not automatic, even if the 
criminal charges were reduced or dismissed. You 
must meet all reinstatement requirements and apply 
for a license to regain your driving privilege.
A revocation which is not reinstated will remain on 
your record indefinitely and you will not be able to 
obtain a driver license in any state. 

Your Record
Records of a DUI arrest and/or conviction remain in 
criminal history files for the rest of your life. If you 
are convicted of a felony DUI, you will be charged 
with a felony in any subsequent DUI arrest.
Convictions and license revocations remain on 
your full DMV record for the rest of your life. A DUI 
conviction may show on your driver history for up to 
ten years.  A license revocation is reported until the 
driving privilege is reinstated.
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