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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690

dmv.nv.gov

OCCUPATIONAL (SALESPERSON) LICENSE INFORMATION 

“Salesperson” defined. “Salesperson” means: 

1. A person employed by a vehicle dealer, under any form of contract or arrangement to sell, exchange, buy, or offer for
sale, or exchange an interest in a vehicle to any person, who receives or expects to receive a commission, fee or any
other consideration from the seller or purchaser of the vehicle; or

2. A person who exercises managerial control within the business of a dealer or a long-term or short-term lessor, or who
supervises salespersons employed by a dealer or a long-term or short-term lessor, whether compensated by salary or by
commission, or who negotiates with or induces a customer to enter into a security agreement on behalf of a dealer or a
long-term or short-term lessor. NRS 482.107

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS 

1. Certificate of Employment (OBL236) completed and signed by a principal or an authorized person of a licensed Nevada
Dealer.

2. Personal History Questionnaire (OBL242) completed by applicant.

3. Applicant photograph, at least 2 inches x 2 inches (passport photo size) and show full face, shoulders and above.

4. One set of fingerprints is required. Applicant must be fingerprinted by an authorized NV DMV representative or a law
enforcement agency. Check with your local law enforcement agency for any additional fees.

5. DPS Fingerprint Background Waiver (OBL256) completed and signed by each applicant.

6. Occupational License (Salesperson) Disclaimer (OBL264). Disclaimer must be notarized or signature witnessed by an
authorized NV DMV representative.

APPLICATION FEES (Non-refundable) 

Original License Fee: $75.00 
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $39.00 
Annual Renewal Fee: $40.00 
Transfer Fee: $20.00 

Occupational salesperson licenses expire on December 31 of each year. The cost for licenses issued throughout the year is the 
same; fees will not be prorated. If your license has been expired for 6 months or more, you must submit a new application, 
fingerprints, and pay the original license fee. 

When a person holds a temporary permit or license from the Nevada DMV to act as a salesperson and ceases to be employed, 
their permit/license is automatically terminated. The person may not engage in the activity of a salesperson until he or she has 
paid the DMV a transfer fee of $20 and submitted a Certificate of Employment (OBL236), indicating re-employment by a licensed 
and bonded dealer, lessor or rebuilder. Thereafter, a current temporary permit or license will be presented to the employer (NRS 
482.362). 

OBL255 (06-2019) 
OBL337 (11-2024) 
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690

dmv.nv.gov

CERTIFICATE OF EMPLOYMENT 

SALESPERSON INSPECTOR 

Class: One Two 

DRIVE SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR: 

CDL Non CDL

DUI SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR 

TRAFFIC SAFETY SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR 

Diesel Registration Renewal 

Behind the Wheel 

General Classroom 

General Classroom Under 18 

Trainee 

New 

Renewal 

Transfer 

FEES 
$ 

$ 

$ 

EMPLOYEE: 

Full Legal Name DMV Occupational License # 

NV Driver’s License # or Date of Birth Telephone Number ( ) -

Mailing Address 
Street City State Zip 

Physical Address 
Street 

Nevada Revised Statute and Nevada Administrative Code Chapters: 

City State Zip 

NRS/NAC Chapters
445B & 482 

NRS/NAC Chapters 482 &
490 

NRS/NAC Chapter
483 

NRS/NAC Chapters 487 & 597 
(Body Shop & Garage only) 

Station and Inspector 
licensing. 

Broker, Dealer, Distributor, 
Long Term Lessor, 
Manufacturer, Rebuilder, 
Salesman, Short Term 
Lessor and Transporter 
licensing, including Off-
Highway Vehicle Industry 
Licensing. 

Instructor and School 
licensing. 

Body Shop, Garage, Salvage 
Pool and Wrecker licensing or 
registration. 

I understand it is my responsibility to review the aforementioned Nevada Revised Statute and Nevada Administrative 
Code Chapters with respect to the license or registration I am applying for and agree to comply with the requirements 
stated therein. I declare under penalty of perjury that the information contained in this form is true and correct. 

Employee’s Signature Date 

EMPLOYER: 
Business Name 

Address 
Street 

Authorized Representative’s Name and Title (Print) 

City 

DMV Business License # 

( ) -
State Zip Telephone Number 

Authorized Representative’s Signature 
OBL236 (02/2022) 
OBL337 (11-2024) Page 2 of 8 

https://dmv.nv.gov


 

- .. ■■II ....---, u1111 
□ □ 

□ □ 

□ □ □ 

□ □ 

------□ □ 

Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690

dmv.nv.gov

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONNAIRE 
New  Update 

This questionnaire is filed as part of the licensing application for: 

Business License: Principal Registered Agent/Manager 

Occupational License: Salesperson Drive School Instructor Traffic Safety School Instructor 

Inspector DUI School Instructor 

All lines and spaces must be completed in full. If not applicable enter (N/A). 

Full Legal Name: 

Last First 
Additional names you have been known by (maiden name, stage name, nickname): 

Middle 

Mailing Address 
Street City State Zip 

Physical Address 
Street City State Zip 

Home Phone Additional Phone 

Driver’s License No. State 

Date of Birth 

Social Security No. - -

Place of Birth 

Female 
City State 

Male 

Height Weight Hair Eyes 

Scars, marks, and/or tattoos 

Employment History for the past 5 years beginning with the most current (without gaps): 

From 
(month/year) 

To 
(month/year) 

Employer Complete Address/Telephone # 

OBL242 (02/2022) 
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690

dmv.nv.gov

Applicant’s Name 
Personal History Questionnaire 

List names, complete address, and phone numbers of two personal references. 

Name Address Phone Number 

Drive, DUI or Traffic Safety applicants only:
Have you ever been arrested or convicted of a crime or offense, either felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, 
including traffic misdemeanor offenses? Yes No 

All other applicants:
Have you ever been arrested or convicted of a crime or offense, either felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, 
excluding traffic misdemeanor offenses?  Yes No 

If “Yes,” list separate charge by date of arrest. Describe the offense, court, and disposition in the appropriate 
columns. If additional space required, use a separate sheet of paper. 

Date of Arrest Nature of Offense Court of Jurisdiction Disposition of Offense 

Are you currently, or have you ever been under supervision of a parole or probation agency of any state?  If so, provide 
name and address of the agency, name of supervising officer and phone number.  Provide a copy of your discharge; if 
appropriate (explain). 

Child Support Information:
Nevada Revised Statute 482.319 requires all professional and occupational licensing agencies to request statements 
regarding child support from applicants for new licenses and for renewal of all occupational licenses. Please mark the 
appropriate response and complete the remainder of the form.  Failure to mark one of the three and completion of the form 
will result in denial of the application. 

I am not subject to a court order for the support of a child. 

I am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am in compliance with a plan 
approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount 
owed pursuant to the order; or 

I am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am not in compliance with the 
order or plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment 
of the amount owed pursuant to the order. 

OBL242 (02/2022) 
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690

dmv.nv.gov

Applicant’s Name 
Personal History Questionnaire 

Have you previously held or do you presently have a business or occupational license issued by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles in this State or by any other State’s occupational licensing authority?  Yes No 

If “Yes”, license number State 

Have you ever had a business or occupational license, in this state or any other state including a driver’s license, which 
was denied, suspended, revoked, or had administrative sanction against it? Yes No (if Yes, explain) 

I hereby authorize the Department of Motor Vehicles to make any background investigation necessary as it pertains to the 
issuance of my license. In relation, I authorize any person or entity contacted by the Department of Motor Vehicles, its 
agents or employees to furnish any information or opinions they may have during the course of my initial background 
investigation. I release from liability and promise to hold harmless under any and all causes of legal action, the State of 
Nevada, Department of Motor Vehicles, its agents or employees and all persons or entities furnishing information or 
opinions to the Department of Motor Vehicles related to my background investigation. I understand providing false 
information or the omission of the requested information in this questionnaire is grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke my 
business or occupational license. Furthermore, I understand filing false information to obtain any license or permit is a 
criminal act as defined in Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Codes in addition to being subject to the 
administrative sanctions as prescribed by law. 

________________________________________________________ Date 
Signature of Applicant 
Signatures must be original.  Photocopies are not acceptable. 

State of Nevada 
County of 
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of , 20 by 

Notary Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative (Notary Seal) 

For Department Use Only 

Case No 

Application completed and signed Fingerprints Background Investigation Total Fees $ 

Recommendation: Approved Denied 

Date 
Signature of Employee 

Signature of Supervisor (if applicable) 
Date 

Signature of Investigator (if applicable) 
OBL242 (02/2022) 
OBL337 (11-2024) 
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Nevada Department of 
Public Safety 
Fingerprint Background Waiver 

As an applicant who is the subject of a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check for a 
noncriminal justice purpose (such as an application for employment or a license, an immigration or 
naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption), you have certain rights which are discussed below. 
All notices must be provided to you in writing. These obligations are pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974, 
Title 5, United States Code (U.S.C.) Section 552a, and Title 28 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), 50.12, 
among other authorities. 

1. You must be notified by (name of requesting agency) that your 
fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI and the State of Nevada. 

2. Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information 
is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental 
authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive 
Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; 
however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application. 

3. Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, 
may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated 
information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible 
agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's 
Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and 
latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise 
responsible agency. The FBI and/or the Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History 
may retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this 
application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other 
fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI. 

4. Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints 
and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI Central Repository for Nevada 
Records of Criminal History, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be 
disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 197 4 and all applicable Routine Uses 
as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system 
and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: 
employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, 
contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or 
federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national 
security or public safety. 

5. If you have a criminal history record, you should be afforded a reasonable amount to time to correct or 
complete the record ( or decline to do so) before the officials deny you the employment, license, or 
other benefit based on information in the FBI criminal history record. The procedures for obtaining a 
change, correction, or update of your FBI criminal history record as set forth at, 28 CFR 16.34 provides 
for the proper procedure to do so. 

0S0SRCCD-003(08/2020rev) 
Fingerprint Background Waiver 

Applicant: 

and/or 

Initial Date 



6. If agency policy permits, the officials may provide you with a copy of your FBI criminal history record 
for review and possible challenge. If agency policy does not permit it to provide you a copy of the 
record, you may obtain a copy of the record by submitting fingerprints and a fee to the FBI. Information 
regarding this process may be obtained at https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history­
summary-checks and https://www.edo.cjis.gov . 

7. If you decide to challenge the accuracy or completenes of your FBI criminal history record, you should 
send your challenge to the agency that contributed the questioned information to the FBI. 
Alternatively, you may send your challenge directly to the FBI by submitting a request via 
https://www.edo.cjis.gov . The FBI will then forward your challenge to the agency that contributed the 
questioned information and request the agency to verify or correct the challenged entry. Upon receipt 
of an official communication from that agency, the FBI will make any necessary changes/corrections to 
your record in accordance with the information supplied by that agency. (See 28 CFR 16.30 through 
16.34.) 

8. You have the right to expect that officials receiving the results of the fingerprint-based criminal history 
record check will use it only for authorized purposes and will not retain or disseminate it in violation of 
federal or state statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the 
National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council. 

9. I hereby authorize _______________ [name of requesting agency), to submit a set 
of my fingerprints to the Nevada Department Public Safety, Records Bureau for the purpose of 
accessing and reviewing State of Nevada and FBI criminal history records that may pertain to me. 

10. I hereby release from liability and promise to hold harmless under any and all causes of legal action, 
the State of Nevada, its officer(s), agent(s) and/or employee(s) who conducted my criminal history 
records search and provided information to the submitting agency for any statement(s), omission(s), 
or infringement(s) upon my current legal rights. I further release and promise to hold harmless and 
covenant not to sue any persons, firms, institutions or agencies providing such information to the State 
of Nevada on the basis of their disclosures. I have signed this release voluntarily and of my own free 
will. 

A reproduction of this authorization for release of information by photocopy, facsimile or similar process, 
shall for all purposes be as valid as the original. 

In consideration for processing my application I, the undersigned, whose name and signature voluntarily 
appears below; do hereby and irrevocably agree to the above. 

Applicant's Name: 
LEASE PRINT 

Applicant's Signature: 

Date: 

Agency Account#: 

Agency Representative: 
PLEASE PRINT 

Agency Representative Signature: 

Date: 

0S0SRCCD-003(08/2020rev) 
Fingerprint Background Waiver 

Last Name First Name Middle 

Last Name First Name Middle 

Page 2 of2 

P 



 

Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690

dmv.nv.gov

OCCUPATIONAL LICENSE (SALESPERSON) DISCLAIMER 

I, (print name) , as an applicant for a State of Nevada, 
Department of Motor Vehicles occupational (salesperson) license, acknowledge the following Nevada 
Revised Statutes: 

482.362.1 Payment of a non-refundable license fee of $75. The license expires on December 
31 of each calendar year and may be renewed annually upon the payment of a 
fee of $40.  A non-refundable fee of $39.00, for fingerprint processing. 

482.362.4 An application for a salesperson’s license may be denied and a salesperson’s license may 
be suspended or revoked upon the following grounds: 

1. Failure of an applicant to establish by proof satisfactory to the department that he is
employed by a licensed and bonded vehicle dealer, trailer dealer or semitrailer dealer,
lessor or rebuilder.

2. Conviction of a class A or B felony.
3. Conviction of a class C, D, or E felony within the immediately preceding 10 years
4. Conviction of a gross misdemeanor within the immediately preceding 10 years.
5. Conviction of a misdemeanor within the immediately preceding 20 years for violation

ofany of the provisions of this chapter.
6. Falsification of the application.
7. Evidence of unfitness as described in NRS 482.3255
8. Failure of the applicant to provide any information deemed necessary by the

Department to process the application.
9. Any reason determined by the director to be in the best interest of the public.

I am a resident of the State of 
Driver’s License No. State 

483.245.1 When a person becomes a resident of Nevada as defined in Chapters 482 and 
483 of the NRS he must, within 30 days, obtain a Nevada driver’s license as a 
prerequisite to driving any motor vehicle in the State of Nevada. 

Signatures must be original. Photocopies are not acceptable. 

Signature of Applicant 

State of Nevada, County of 
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of 

Date 

, 

Notary Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative 

OBL264 (09/2021) 
OBL337 (11-2024) 

(Notary Seal) 
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