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Welcome to the 4™ Quarter Edition of the Motor Carrier Newsletter. We hope you find the
information contained herein beneficial to you and your company. We encourage you to
provide your ideas and comments so that we may include them in future issues.

Have you sent in your 2006 Renewal? Contact the Department @ 775-684-4711, ext. 1 if you
have not received your 2006 packet.

IRP/IFTA AUDIT
PROCEDURES

“ IRP AUDIT PROCEDURES

In conducting the IRP audit, auditors will use
your source documents to determine the
accuracy and completeness of the distance
and vehicle information recorded on
Individual Vehicle Distance Records,
monthly and yearly summaries, and your IRP
registration forms. The registrant will be
subject to audit on the actual distance
traveled during the preceding year(s)
corresponding to the registration year(s)
regardless of the number of months operated.
If a registrant chooses to estimate distance
for a second or subsequent registration year,
the estimated fees will be calculated in
excess of 100% of the actual fees. Any
registrant failing to maintain adequate

records from which true liability can be

determined is subject to an estimated fee

assessment for non-base jurisdictions,
100% fee assessment to the base
jurisdiction, application of penalty and
interest as prescribed by the laws of the
base jurisdiction, and/or the cancellation
of registration.

New Registrants: If you are licensing in

Nevada for the first time and have
operated in another jurisdiction during the
previous year, you must use actual

mileage on your registration.

“ IFTA AUDIT PROCEDURES

Every IFTA license holder is subject to
audit. If your operation is chosen for an
audit, you will be contacted in writing.
Under normal circumstances, you will
receive at least 30 days notice of an audit.

Every effort will be made to schedule the

audit at a mutually convenient time.




(IFTA Audit Procedures Continued...)

If your records do not meet the
IFTA record keeping requirements, one or
more of the following actions may be taken:
= Fuel purchases may be estimated on
prior experience of the licensee or by
comparing to similar operations;
= A standard of 4.0 miles per gallon will
be used;
= All claims for tax paid fuel without
supporting documentation will be
disallowed; and
= The burden of proof rests on the
licensee
Any questions pertaining to an audit should be
directed to the Motor Carrier Division, Audit
Team at (775) 684-4634. If a licensee fails to
provide records for the purpose of an audit, the
statute of limitations is extended until such
records are provided. Upon completion of the
audit, the findings will be reported in writing
to the licensee and any member jurisdiction in
which distances were traveled. Nevada will
collect any tax owed for all member
jurisdictions. Interest will be assessed for all
member jurisdictions, if applicable, during the
IFTA audit and for Nevada only on IRP
audits. Penalty due to Nevada on an IRP or
IFTA audit will be included in the audit
assessment. Penalty due to member
jurisdictions will be billed directly by the
member jurisdiction(s).

If it is determined that that the
licensee’s operational records are not located
in Nevada and it becomes necessary for the
Department’s auditors to travel to where such
records are maintained, the Department will
require a licensee to pay reasonable per diem

and travel expenses incurred by the
auditor(s) in the performance of such an
audit. Additional record keeping
requirements can be found on the Motor
Carrier website, located at
www.dmvnv.com/mcforms.htm

Delinquent Registration Payments

The following information is very
important for all carriers to read and be
made aware of. If a carrier is delinquent
for a registration payment and it is
determined that the carrier has made a
late registration payment and that the
carrier has made a prior late registration
payment at any time during the preceding
three (3) year period, effective July 1,
2005 installment privileges for
registration payments will be revoked
immediately. The carrier will be required
to pay their remaining registration
balance in full and the carrier will not be
eligible for installment payments for their
registration for the following year. This
Is in addition to any administrative fines
that may be assessed.

Each carrier has certain
responsibilities, such as providing the
Motor Carrier Division with their current
mailing address and ensuring all
payments are made on a timely basis.
Any carrier hiring a service to file tax
returns and make registration payments
on his behalf needs to be aware that the
timely filing of these documents and
payment of taxes is ultimately the
carrier’s responsibility.

If you have any questions or need
assistance in the correct procedures to
follow when completing and filing your
quarterly IFTA/Nevada Special Fuel User
Tax Return, please contact the Revenue
Team at (775) 684-4711 ext 3.



http://www.dmvnv.com/mcforms.htm

DMV Fuel Industry Tax Application
The Department of Motor Vehicles, Motor
Carrier Division proudly announces the
introduction of its new web based fuel supplier
tax return filing system. Suppliers are only a
click away from this new user-friendly system,
which offers such benefits as paper reduction,
timesavings, and cost savings to the supplier
through error reduction.

=l

The concept is simple and user friendly. All
you have to do is submit a Trading Partner
Agreement for all employees authorized to
access your account. You will then be given a
User ID number that allows you access to the
website.

Your supplier tax return will be built for you,
starting with all load detail entered or uploaded
by your staff. State and county motor fuel
taxes, in addition to all Special Fuels taxes will
be calculated based upon taxable sales
information entered. In addition, prior month’s
activity can now be reported on the current
month’s tax return, thus eliminating the need for
filing amended tax returns.

To obtain more information, please contact the
Fuel Industry Team at (775) 684-4711 ext 2.
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Legislation Session, AB
255 was passed which
allows the Department, by
regulation, to establish a
procedure requiring
suppliers to submit tax
returns electronically, but
no sooner than July 1,
2006.

The Department will be conducting
public Workshops/Hearings at
various locations throughout the
state to receive comments from all
interested persons.

All suppliers and other interested
parties will be notified of locations,
dates, and times when these are
determined.
Fuel User Team

IFTA Tax Return errors can
result in additional money owed or
smaller refunds for carriers. Errors
cost you, the taxpayer, time and
money. We have identified the
most common errors and how to
correct them in order to make filing
easier for you. Please read
carefully to avoid such errors on
future tax returns.

1. All mileage and gallons
should be rounded to the
nearest whole number. If
you purchased 458.97
gallons of fuel, you should
report it as 459 gallons. If
12,354.32 miles were
traveled, it should be
reported as 12,354.

2. To correctly calculate your
MPG, according to IFTA
guidelines, you must divide
the total miles traveled by
the total gallons purchased,
including all Oregon miles
and gallons. Failure to do
this will result in an incorrect
MPG calculation on your tax
return, which, in turn, can
result in a higher tax
liability.

(continued)




(cont’d from page 3)

You should not use a standard MPG each
quarter since, under normal conditions, your
MPG will fluctuate. An accurate MPG for
one quarter may not be so for the next.

3. Column G on Schedule 1 says, “tax paid
gallons”. This column is where you take
credit for the number of gallons
purchased in each state. For instance, if
you traveled in Nevada and California
during the quarter and purchased your
fuel only in Nevada, you must put a zero
in Column G for California. You will
owe the state of California the tax due on
the number of gallons you used there
(Column F — taxable gallons). Since you
purchased more fuel in Nevada than you
used in the state, the credit from the
excess Nevada purchase will be used to
offset your California tax due.

4. Please refer to the Tax Rate Schedule
that is included with each quarter’s tax
return. While a majority of the states
do not change tax rates too frequently,
there are some that do, so be sure you
are using the correct rate.

For questions regarding the IFTA tax returns,
please do not hesitate to call our offices at (775)
684-4711 and press #2 for the Fuel User Team.
We will be happy to assist you. We also have
an “example/instruction sheet” that you may
find helpful. Simply give us a call and we will

fax or mail one to you.

2006 RENEWAL

Please be aware that Nevada has no
grace period and your company’s
renewal must be postmarked no later
than December 31, 2005, to avoid the
assessment of penalty and interest.

Following is a list of common
mistakes that will result in the renewal
application being returned, causing a
delay in receiving your 2006
credentials:

* When estimating mileage for a
newly apportioned carrier, or when
adding a new jurisdiction, either a
Schedule G form outlining your
business plan or a Mileage Chart must
be attached. The mileage listed on the
Schedule G form or the Mileage Chart
must correspond to the estimated
mileage listed on the application. The
Schedule G form must be signed and
notarized and the Mileage Chart must
be signed and dated to be accepted.
*The IRP Registration Certification
form must be included with all IRP

Renewals. This form is required to
verify that your company’s
appropriate base jurisdiction is
Nevada.

*If your vehicle(s) has a gross vehicle
weight in excess of 54,999 pounds, a

Form 2290 showing proof of payment
of the Heavy Vehicle Use Tax
(HVUT) to the IRS must accompany
the renewal.

*Checks received without the written
description of the amount or without
the required signature(s) cannot be
accepted.




