
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

MOTOR CARRIER NEWSLETTER 

                      Published Quarterly       February 2009 

     Welcome to the 2009 First Quarter Edition of the Motor Carrier Newsletter. We hope you find 
the information contained herein beneficial to you and your company.  We encourage you to 
provide your ideas and comments so that we may include them in future issues. 

 
         
         

 
ATTENTION NEVADA MOTOR CARRIERS 

 
 

        
 
        

****AB595**** 
 
 
 

During the 2007 Legislative Session, AB595 amended Chapters 360A, 365, and 
366 of the Nevada Administrative Code. The resulting regulation amendments 
made various changes relating to payment of certain taxes and fees imposed 
on motor vehicle fuel, aircraft fuel and special fuels. A Workshop and Hearing 
to allow public testimony was held and the changes resulting from the 
Workshop and Hearing were subsequently presented to the Legislative 
Adoption Committee and adopted on December 16, 2008 
 
The following is a brief synopsis, by team, of the changes to the Nevada 
Administrative Code.  For further clarification and information about the 
changes, please contact the Motor Carrier Division at (775) 684-4711. 
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Fuel Industry Team 
All license types have annual renewal requirements, with the renewal application to be 
submitted to the Department by December 1 of each year.  The Department will impose 
an administrative fine for an application that is received late in the following amounts: 
  

(a)  If received 1 to 7 calendar days late…………………………. $100 
(b) If received 8 to 14 calendar days late………………………... $200 
(c)  If received 15 to 22 calendar days late………………………. $300 
(d) If received more that 22 calendar days late…………………..$400 
(e) If received after the date on which the licensed expired…….$500 

 
The definition of immediate family member has been clarified to mean great-grandparent, 
grandparent, parent, brother, sister, daughter, son, spouse, grandchild or great-
grandchild. 
 
A supplier, dealer or exporter shall not conduct business with an unlicensed transporter. A 
transporter must provide proof of licensure and shall upon the expiration, suspension or 
revocation of his license immediately notify his customers.  
 
A definition of “good standing”, which means the taxpayer is in compliance with the rules 
and regulations of the Department and does not allow any payments or delinquent tax 
returns to any state, district, territory or possession of the United States or a foreign 
country has been added. 
  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

  

 

 
          Revenue Team 
 

• Beginning in 2009, Fuel Users who file special fuel tax reports late two or more 
times in a twelve month period are considered “habitually late” filers and subject to 
a $2,500.00 bond requirements. 

• Beginning in 2009, the 1st instance administration fine for tax return/payment 
violations will be a minimum of $100.00  
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FUEL USER TEAM 

 
 
 
All license types have annual renewal requirements, with the renewal application to be 
submitted to the Department by December 1of each year.  The Department will impose an 
administrative fine for an application that is received late in the following amounts:  
 

(a)  If received 1 to 7 calendar days late………………………….  $100 
(b) If received 8 to 14 calendar days late………………………..... $200 
(c)  If received 15 to 22 calendar days late……………………….  $300 
(d) If received more that 22 calendar days late…………………...  $400 
(e) If received after the date on which the licensed expired………. $500 

 
The definition of immediate family member has been clarified to mean great-grandparent, grandparent, 
parent, brother, sister, daughter, son, spouse, grandchild or great-grandchild. 
 
A supplier, dealer or exporter shall not conduct business with an unlicensed transporter. A transporter 
must provide proof of licensure and shall upon the expiration, suspension or revocation of his license 
immediately notify his customers.  
 
A definition of “good standing”, which means the taxpayer is in compliance with the rules and 
regulations of the Department and does not allow any payments or delinquent tax returns to any state, 
district, territory or possession of the United States or a foreign country has been added. 
 
In the event a special fuel user has been deemed habitually delinquent a bond will be required by that 
special fuel user under the following amounts. The amount of the bond required will be the greater of: 

(a) The total taxable gallons of special fuel claimed on the most recent tax return of the special fuel 
user multiplied b the tax rate determined pursuant to NRS 366.190, multiplied by 3; or  

(b)  $2,500 
 

The bond required must be maintained by the special fuel user; 
(a) The first time a special fuel user is found to be habitually delinquent, for 12 months.  
(b) The second time a special fuel user is found to be habitually delinquent, for 24 months. 
(c) The third time a special fuel user is found to be habitually delinquent and for any subsequent 

finding of habitual delinquency, for 36 months. 



 4
 

                        
 
 
 
Refunds: 
A special fuel user who requests a refund based on NRS 366.190 
and 366.220 for a motor vehicle with auxiliary equipment will be 
able to request those refunds in the following amounts based on 
equipment used: 
 
Thirty percent for a: 
Cement mixer 
Concrete pumper 
Mobile crane 
Drill rig 
 
Twenty percent for a: 
Commercial garbage, sanitation or refuse truck 
Trucks with an auxiliary pump for cleaning sewers, cesspools, septic tanks 
Sweeper truck 
 
Ten percent for: 
Any other motor vehicle with auxiliary equipment used for a specific function when the 
vehicle is not traveling on the highways of the State, including, without limitation; a dump 
truck, a boom truck, a care carrier, a semi-truck wrecker, refrigeration truck, a line truck 
with a digger, a derrick or an aerial lift, a carpet cleaning truck, a document shredding truck 
or a tank truck with a pneumatic tank.. 
 
NOTE: All refund requests must be accompanied by proof of fuel consumed and equipment 
type.  For example, fueling logs which identify the specific type of equipment and amount of 
fuel placed into the equipment; receipts showing the fuel placed into the equipment was tax 
paid.  Issuance of a refund by the Department does not guarantee eligibility; and all refunds 
issued are subject to audit.  
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AUDIT 

 
 
 
 
The term “careless reporting” includes, without limitation: 

(a) Any alteration of the dates of fueling, types of fuel or amounts of fuel on a tax 
return; 

(b) Underreporting or non-reporting of the sale of fuel; and  
(c) Reporting a taxable event as a nontaxable event. 

The term does not include the filing of an amended tax return or the submission of amended 
data that reflects additions to or corrections of data originally submitted. 
 
The Department will interpret the term “aggrieved by a decision of the Department” to mean 
affected by any decision of the Department which has an adverse impact on a petitioner 
including, without limitation, the assessment of monetary damages assessed by the Department 
and any other decision that may be appealed. 
 
Aviation fuel and fuel for jet or turbine-powered aircraft is deemed distributed and taxable 
when the fuel is received by a dealer or supplier for its own use, and the receiving dealer or 
supplier shall remit the tax. The sale of aviation fuel and fuel for jet or turbine-powered aircraft 
by a dealer or supplier to another dealer or supplier shall not be deemed taxable. All sales of 
aviation fuel and fuel for jet or turbine powered aircraft made to unlicensed parties are taxable 
at the time of sale. 
 
The Department may issue an order to seal a fuel pump of a retailer or dealer, or the  
metered pipes and hoses of a rack of a dealer or supplier pursuant to NRS 365.605 after 
providing the required notice if the retailer, dealer or supplier has not shown cause why the fuel 
pump or metered pipes and hoses of the rack should not be sealed. Upon issuing an order to seal 
a fuel pump, metered pipe or hoses pursuant to this section, the Department will deliver a copy 
of the order to the sheriff or the county in which the retailer, dealer or supplier is located for 
assistance with the enforcement of the order.   
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Transporters 
 
The records require to be kept pursuant to NRS 365.500 by a transporter include, 
Without limitation, records in the form of: 

1. Delivery tickets 
2. Invoices 
3. Bills of lading or highway transportation receipts 
4. Consortium reports 
5. Reports from an independently operated storage facility 
6. Reports from a refinery; and  
7. Any other relevant document to confirm receipt or delivery of any item listed in 

Subsection 1 of NRS 365.500. 
 

Records and documents kept pursuant to subsection 1 must include, without limitation: 
(a) An inventory for each tank used for storing fuel, including, without limitation: 
 (1) The type of fuel in each tank; 
 (2) The gains and losses of fuel for each tank; 
 (3) The names of the shippers and receivers of fuel for each tank; and  
 (4) The type and amount of any additive placed into each tank, including, without 
limitation, transmix, ethanol, biodiesel, dye or any other additive which increases the volume of 
fuel in the tank.  
(b) A record of import and export activity, including, without limitation: 
 (1) The actual number of barrels or gallons of fuel transported; 
 (2) The origin and destination of fuel transported; 
 (3) All exchanges and transfers of fuel; 
 (4) All transaction dates of imports, exchanges and transfers of fuel; and  
 (5) The types of fuel imported and exported. 
 
“Consortium” means an association or combination of businesses which sell, transport, import 
or export aviation fuel, fuel for jet or turbine-powered aircraft or motor vehicle fuel, other than 
aviation fuel, and which are engaged in a joint venture or doing business under a cooperative 
agreement. 
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Licensing Team 
 
Staggered Registration  
 
In the 2007 Legislative session, Assembly 
Bill 5 was passed to allow staggered 
registration for 100% Nevada Carriers.  
Carriers with a 100% Nevada fleet were 
assigned a registration period of either 
April through March or October through 
September.  All the registration cycles 
were assigned and sent out with the 2009 
renewals.  
 
Some important changes to note with the 
staggered registration are the changes on 
the cab cards that are issued and new due 
date for paperwork and payments.  
 
The cab cards that are being issued to the 
100% Nevada carriers do not have 
expiration dates printed on the card. The 
expiration date is on the decal that is 
issued with the cab card and placed on the 
license plate. A bulletin was sent out to 
law enforcement informing them of the 
changes that have been made.  
 
New due dates have also been put into 
place along with the staggered registration 
cycles. All required renewal 
documentation will be due on or before 
the first day of the month that the 
registration expires. 

 
 
 
Therefore, the renewal paperwork due 
dates are March 1st, September 1st, and 
December 1st depending on registration 
cycle that has been assigned. Payment 
due dates are January 1st, April 1st, July 
1st and October 1st. 
 
Making these changes to the registration 
cycle will help to make a smoother 
renewal process for all motor carriers. 
There will be less people renewing at 
one time allowing for a faster turn 
around for issuing new credentials.  
 
Any questions about the staggered 
registration cycles should be directed to 
the licensing section of the Nevada 
Motor Carrier Division. 
  
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 8
 

 IRS FORM 2290   
 
There are often many questions regarding the Federal Heavy Use Tax (Form 2290) and 
when it is or isn’t required. The 2290 is required for all motor vehicles operating or 
registered at a gross vehicle weight of 55,000 lbs or greater.  
 
The 2290 must be filed by the last day of the month following the first day of use. For 
example, if the first day of use is January 29, 2009 the due date is February 28, 2009. 
 
Proof of filing: 
The IRS defines the first day of use as the first day a vehicle uses its own power on a 
public highway or street. Carriers are not required to provide the DMV with proof of 
filing until 60 days from the date of purchase; however the form should still be filed with 
the IRS. A new 2290 filing is due every July 1st and proof of the new 2290 is required to 
be submitted with Motor Carrier renewal paperwork.  Vehicles that fall under the exempt 
category for the form 2290 are still required to file with IRS and provide proof of the 
filing with the registration renewal.  
 
If a vehicle is sold after the 2290 has been filed with the IRS, a new 2290 filing is 
required under the new owner’s name.  The previous owner is then able to apply for a 
refund for the unused portion of their 2290. All refund applications should include a form 
8849 and an explanation detailing the facts for each tax credit. 
 
Any questions regarding the Form 2290 should be directed to the Licensing section of the 
Motor Carrier Division or you may contact the IRS directly. You can contact the IRS 
(toll free) at 866-669-4096 or online at www.irs.gov  

http://www.irs.gov/

