
Compliance Enforcement Division 
Occupational and Business Licensing 

555 Wright Way 
Carson City, Nevada  89711 

(775) 684-4690 
dmv.nv.gov

EC-007 (10/2021) 

NEW EMISSION INSPECTOR LICENSE PACKET 
NRS 445B.705 

“Approved Inspector” means a person licensed by the Department of Motor Vehicles to inspect motor 
vehicles and devices for the control of pollution for an authorized station or authorized inspection 
station (NRS 445B.705) 

Prerequisites: 

1. A new Inspector License packet must be completed in its entirety and brought with the
applicant to a local DMV Emission Lab before a practical exam can be scheduled.

2. A Pre-Practical Checklist (EC-030) must be signed by the Instructor and the Applicant.
3. All training requirements must be met

Note:  Required documentation cannot be completed during class.

Licensing Requirements: 

1. Prerequisites must be completed.
2. Certificate of Employment: (OBL-236) must be completed and signed by a Principal or

authorized representative of a licensed Nevada Emission Station. A new Certificate of
Employment must be submitted any time changes are made to an existing license.

3. Personal History Questionnaire (OBL-242) must be completed by the applicant to include a
complete five year employment history with no breaks in employment, complete addresses,
zip codes, telephone numbers, arrest record, disposition of charges, a copy of discharge if
ever under supervision, parole, or probation, and child support information.

4. One photograph of applicant.  Photo must be no larger than 2” x 2”, full face, shoulders and
above, no sunglasses or hats.

5. The Advisory form (EC-045) explains possible grounds for denial, suspension or revocation.
6. License fee of $25.00 for first location and $2.00 for each additional location.
7. Class 1 and Class 2 inspectors must comply with provisions of NAC 445B.485 in areas of

training, qualifications, experience, and pass required examination(s) administered by the
Department.

8. A Certificate of Training or an Automotive Service Excellence Certificate. Approved outside
training providers are listed here: https://dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ec79.pdf

Note: Due to background checks and SECO review, New Inspector applicants are not
able to have a same-day transaction.

http://www.dmvnv.com/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-445B.html#NRS445BSec705
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-445B.html#NRS445BSec705
https://dmvnv.com/pdfforms/ec79.pdf
https://dmv.nv.gov
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690 

dmv.nv.gov 

CERTIFICATE OF EMPLOYMENT 

SALESPERSON INSPECTOR 

Class: One Two 

DRIVE SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR: 

CDL Non CDL 

DUI SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR 

TRAFFIC SAFETY SCHOOL INSTRUCTOR 

Diesel Registration Renewal 

Behind the Wheel 

General Classroom 

General Classroom Under 18 

Trainee 

New 

Renewal 

Transfer 

FEES 
$ 

$ 

$ 

EMPLOYEE: 

Full Legal Name DMV Occupational License # 

NV Driver’s License # or Date of Birth Telephone Number ( ) -

Mailing Address 
Street City State Zip 

Physical Address 
Street 

Nevada Revised Statute and Nevada Administrative Code Chapters: 

City State Zip 

NRS/NAC Chapters
445B & 482 

NRS/NAC Chapters 482 &
490 

NRS/NAC Chapter
483 

NRS/NAC Chapters 487 & 597 
(Body Shop & Garage only) 

Station and Inspector 
licensing. 

Broker, Dealer, Distributor, 
Long Term Lessor, 
Manufacturer, Rebuilder, 
Salesman, Short Term 
Lessor and Transporter 
licensing, including Off-
Highway Vehicle Industry 
Licensing. 

Instructor and School 
licensing. 

Body Shop, Garage, Salvage 
Pool and Wrecker licensing or 
registration. 

I understand it is my responsibility to review the aforementioned Nevada Revised Statute and Nevada Administrative 
Code Chapters with respect to the license or registration I am applying for and agree to comply with the requirements 
stated therein. I declare under penalty of perjury that the information contained in this form is true and correct. 

Employee’s Signature Date 

EMPLOYER: 
Business Name DMV Business License # 

Address ( ) -
Street City State Zip Telephone Number 

Authorized Representative’s Name and Title (Print) 

Authorized Representative’s Signature 
OBL236 (02/2022) 

https://dmv.nv.gov
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690 

dmv.nv.gov 

PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONNAIRE 
New  Update 

This questionnaire is filed as part of the licensing application for: 

Business License: Principal Registered Agent/Manager 

Occupational License: Salesperson Drive School Instructor Traffic Safety School Instructor 

Inspector DUI School Instructor 

All lines and spaces must be completed in full. If not applicable enter (N/A). 

Full Legal Name: 

Last First 
Additional names you have been known by (maiden name, stage name, nickname): 

Middle 

Mailing Address 
Street City State Zip 

Physical Address 
Street City State Zip 

Home Phone Additional Phone 

Driver’s License No. State 

Date of Birth 

Social Security No. - -

Place of Birth 

Female 
City State 

Male 

Height Weight Hair Eyes 

Scars, marks, and/or tattoos 

Employment History for the past 5 years beginning with the most current (without gaps): 

From 
(month/year) 

To 
(month/year) 

Employer Complete Address/Telephone # 

OBL242 (02/2022) Page 1 of 3 

https://dmv.nv.gov
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690 

dmv.nv.gov 

Applicant’s Name 
Personal History Questionnaire 

List names, complete address, and phone numbers of two personal references. 

Name Address Phone Number 

Drive, DUI or Traffic Safety applicants only:
Have you ever been arrested or convicted of a crime or offense, either felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, 
including traffic misdemeanor offenses? Yes No 

All other applicants:
Have you ever been arrested or convicted of a crime or offense, either felony, gross misdemeanor or misdemeanor, 
excluding traffic misdemeanor offenses?  Yes No 

If “Yes,” list separate charge by date of arrest. Describe the offense, court, and disposition in the appropriate 
columns. If additional space required, use a separate sheet of paper. 

Date of Arrest Nature of Offense Court of Jurisdiction Disposition of Offense 

Are you currently, or have you ever been under supervision of a parole or probation agency of any state?  If so, provide 
name and address of the agency, name of supervising officer and phone number.  Provide a copy of your discharge; if 
appropriate (explain). 

Child Support Information:
Nevada Revised Statute 482.319 requires all professional and occupational licensing agencies to request statements 
regarding child support from applicants for new licenses and for renewal of all occupational licenses. Please mark the 
appropriate response and complete the remainder of the form.  Failure to mark one of the three and completion of the form 
will result in denial of the application. 

I am not subject to a court order for the support of a child. 

I am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am in compliance with a plan 
approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment of the amount 
owed pursuant to the order; or 

I am subject to a court order for the support of one or more children and am not in compliance with the 
order or plan approved by the district attorney or other public agency enforcing the order for the repayment 
of the amount owed pursuant to the order. 

OBL242 (02/2022) Page 2 of 3 
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Occupational and Business Licensing 
555 Wright Way 

Carson City, Nevada 89711 
(775) 684-4690 

dmv.nv.gov 

Applicant’s Name 
Personal History Questionnaire 

Have you previously held or do you presently have a business or occupational license issued by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles in this State or by any other State’s occupational licensing authority?  Yes No 

If “Yes”, license number State 

Have you ever had a business or occupational license, in this state or any other state including a driver’s license, which 
was denied, suspended, revoked, or had administrative sanction against it? Yes No (if Yes, explain) 

I hereby authorize the Department of Motor Vehicles to make any background investigation necessary as it pertains to the 
issuance of my license. In relation, I authorize any person or entity contacted by the Department of Motor Vehicles, its 
agents or employees to furnish any information or opinions they may have during the course of my initial background 
investigation. I release from liability and promise to hold harmless under any and all causes of legal action, the State of 
Nevada, Department of Motor Vehicles, its agents or employees and all persons or entities furnishing information or 
opinions to the Department of Motor Vehicles related to my background investigation. I understand providing false 
information or the omission of the requested information in this questionnaire is grounds to deny, suspend, or revoke my 
business or occupational license. Furthermore, I understand filing false information to obtain any license or permit is a 
criminal act as defined in Nevada Revised Statutes and Nevada Administrative Codes in addition to being subject to the 
administrative sanctions as prescribed by law. 

________________________________________________________ Date 
Signature of Applicant 
Signatures must be original.  Photocopies are not acceptable. 

State of Nevada 
County of 
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of , 20 by 

Notary Public or Authorized Nevada DMV Representative (Notary Seal) 

For Department Use Only 

Case No 

Application completed and signed Fingerprints Background Investigation Total Fees $ 

Recommendation: Approved Denied 

Date 
Signature of Employee 

Signature of Supervisor (if applicable) 
Date 

Signature of Investigator (if applicable) 
OBL242 (02/2022) Page 3 of 3 
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EC-045 (08/2021)

Compliance Enforcement Division 
Emission Control Program 

555 Wright Way 
Carson City, NV 89711-0100 
Reno/Sparks (775) 684-3580 

Las Vegas Area (702) 486-4981 
www.dmv.nv.gov 

ADVISORY 
NRS 445B.700 to 445B.845, NAC 445B.400 to 445B.735, NAC 445B.5805 

The Department of Motor Vehicles may deny, suspend, or revoke your station and/or your inspector license if you 
violate any provision of the following Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) or Nevada Administrative Codes (NAC).  NRS 
445B and NAC 445B are available on our website at: https://dmvnv.com/.  

NRS 445B.790:  If the approved inspector or the holder of a license refuses to furnish the Department with the requested 
material or document, or if the station or inspector issues any fraudulent certificate of compliance.  This includes but is not 
limited to: 

1) A backdated certificate;
2) A postdated certificate; and
3) A certificate issued without an inspection.
4) The approved inspector does not follow the prescribed test procedure.

NRS 445B.840:  Willfully and knowingly fail to comply with the provisions of NRS 445B.700 to 445B.815 inclusive, or any 
regulation adopted by the Department of Motor Vehicles.  It is unlawful for any person to possess any unauthorized evidence 
of compliance or issue evidence of compliance if he or she is not a licensed inspector of an authorized station. 

NRS 445B.845:  A violation of any provision of NRS 445B.700 to 445B.845 inclusive is a misdemeanor. 

NAC 445B.463:  If the licensee is convicted of violating any provisions of NAC 445B.400 to 445B.735 inclusive or if a station 
attempts to alter the readings obtained during a test of exhaust emissions or to modify or remove the data obtained by an 
exhaust gas analyzer or a certified on board diagnostic system. The following acts, omissions and conditions may constitute 
a ground for denial, revocation, or suspension: 

1) Failure of the applicant or licensee to have an established place of business in this State.
2) Material misstatement on the application.
3) Unfitness of the applicant or licensee, which includes, without limitation, a pattern of payment to the Department

with checks that are returned because of insufficient funds.
4) The conviction of the applicant or licensee of a felony.
5) The conviction of the applicant or licensee for violating any section of NRS 598 relating to deceptive trade

practices.
6) Refusing to allow an agent of the Department to inspect records, required materials and equipment during

normal business hours.
7) Engaging in conduct which is egregious or poses a serious risk to the public safety

NAC 445B.489:  The Department may deny, suspend, or revoke an inspector’s license if: 
1) The approved inspector fails to establish by satisfactory evidence to the Department that he or she is employed

by a test station with an appropriate rating or has knowingly made any false statement or concealed any material
fact on his or her application for a license.

2) The approved inspector knowingly submits false, inaccurate or misleading information of evidence of
compliance on any other records submitted to the Department.

3) The approved inspector does not follow the Departments prescribed testing procedures pursuant to NAC
445B.580, 445B.5805 and 445B.589 or makes an inaccurate determination regarding a classification of a motor
vehicle.

4) The approved inspector allows evidence of compliance to be completed or issued by a person who is not an
approved inspector or allows another person to perform a test using the identification number assigned to the
approved inspector.

5) The approved inspector fails to comply with any provision of NAC 445B.400 to 445B.735 inclusive.
6) The approved inspector submits to the Department falsified credentials or certifications of training.

I, ____________________________________________, acknowledge that I have reviewed and understand this advisory. 
 Print Name 

__________________________________________   _______________________ 
 Signature  Date 

http://www.dmvnv.com/
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-445B.html#NRS445BSec700
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-445B.html#NRS445BSec845
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-445B.html#NAC445BSec400
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-445B.html#NAC445BSec735
https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nac/NAC-445B.html#NAC445BSec5805
https://dmvnv.com/
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DMV Emissions Lab 
2621 E. Sahara Ave 

Las Vegas, NV 89104 
(702) 486-4981 

 

DMV Emissions Lab 
9155 Double Diamond Pkwy 

Reno, NV 89521 
(775) 684-3580 

All persons applying for licensing as a 1G inspector for the first time must either complete an authorized 1G 20 hour 
course OR be currently certified by the National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) in either A8- Engine 
Performance, or L1-Advanced Engine Performance.   

Approved Training Providers 
1G 20 Hour and 2G 40 Hour and 2G 20 Hour Update Classes 

     
Automotive Emissions Solutions    Automotive Training and Diagnostic Systems  
Charlie Robertson and Dave Robertson   Matthew Aumick 
4425 E Sahara Ave, #42     7300 W. Azure Dr. (Quality Star Benz) 
Las Vegas, NV 89104     Las Vegas, NV 89130-7900 
(702) 900-8392      (702) 682-1481 
Fax (866) 463-7811      1G 20 Hour Class, 2G 40 Hour, 2G 20 Hour Classes  
1G 20 Hour, 2G 40 Hour, 2G 20 Hour Classes    
 
Community College of Southern Nevada   Dekra (Jiffy Smog) 
James Bull  Dustin Pahls 
3200 East Cheyenne Ave  1251 American Pacific Drive, Suite #111 
North Las Vegas, NV 89030  Henderson, NV  89074 
(702) 651-4198  (702) 326-5845 
1G 20 Hour Class  1G 20 Hour Class 
 
Fast Path Automotive Training  Nevada Smog Technician Academy 

     Alan Franz       www.nevadasmogtechnicianacademy.com 
2235 Le Conte Ave   Instructor: Robert Isbell 
Henderson, NV 89074  Phone: 775-441-1651 
www.fastpathat.com  email: robert@nevadasmogtechnicianacademy.com 
(725) 207-6938  1G 20 Hour, 2G 40 Hour, Online Classes 
1G 20 Hour Class 
2G 20 Hour Class 
 
Professional Automotive Training     Smog Busters Certification Class   
(Frank’s European Service)     2711 E. Sahara  
Tom Finneran  Las Vegas, NV 89104 
4704 Cattlemen Ave.      (702) 436-5346 
North Las Vegas, NV 89031     1G 20 Hour Class  
(702) 395-5263        
www.professionalautomotivetraining.net    
1G 20 Hour, 2G 40 Hour, 2G 20 Hour Classes     
1G 20 Hour, 2G 20 Hour, 2G 12 Hour Online      
    
Smog Tech School.com     Truckee Meadows Community College 
SmogTechSchool.com     Sam Byington 
Support@SMOGTECHSCHOOL.COM   475 Edison Way   
(775) 244-1492      Reno, NV 89502 
1G 20 Hour Online Class     (775) 857-4956 
        1G 20 Hour, 2G 40 Hour, 2G 20 Hour Classes 
  
  

https://dmv.nv.gov/
https://linkprotect.cudasvc.com/url?a=http%3a%2f%2fwww.nevadasmogtechnicianacademy.com&c=E,1,yQN09E8Ad-gn2M6RDNWLcMhSYPficxARS1bG_pj3cPYxwd6WFsjaiESlmkAQs5AFCKI4x-fCcDfcDfLvMaMMhE7CeAvscRp0vqCrfk1N3w,,&typo=1
http://www.fastpathat.com/
mailto:robert@nevadasmogtechnicianacademy.com
http://www.professionalautomotivetraining.net/
https://linkprotect.cudasvc.com/url?a=https%3a%2f%2fSmogTechSchool.com&c=E,1,hLcoU3KaLeF6JhwLaUd6DNka-y9MsLS0NALDQ4iACJLm6i89WcyhbZBOVaBEPMqg9yXDJ-m4Pyyd0HpnBiuvP9uQkCzcaj_BzkGjSyi3MpYj_yjdjw,,&typo=1&ancr_add=1
mailto:Support@SMOGTECHSCHOOL.COM
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The following approved classes may be used to satisfy the Class 2 (2G) approved emission inspector 12 hours of 
training requirement. In addition to attending 12 hours of training, Approved Class 2 (2G) Inspectors must also take 
and pass the Department’s Class 2G renewal examination. The Automotive Service Excellence L–1 certification 
exam results can be used in lieu of the departments renewal examination to renew the Class 2G license if taken 
within 12 months of renewal date. 

 
1. AC Delco: Instructor led classes except basic electrical. The course certificate of completion document must 

indicate how many hours the individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 
 

2. Carquest: Instructor led classes except brake and climate control. The course certificate of completion 
document must indicate how many hours the individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 

 
3. ATG training seminars: The course certificate of completion document must indicate how many hours the 

individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 
 
4. ITS classes on an individual basis: The course certificate of completion document must indicate how many 

hours the individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 
 
5. Napa instructor led OnSite training classes listed below: The course certificate of completion document 

must indicate how many hours the individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 
a. Labscope diagnostics I and II 

b. Ford EEC V Diagnostics 

c. Ford Trucks Fuel Injection 

d. GM Trucks, Central Port Injection 

e. GM Trucks Fuel Injection Diagnostics 

f. GM Trucks Featuring OBD II Part 1 and Part 2 

g. Toyota Fuel Injection 
 

6. O’Reilly instructor led OnSite training classes listed below: The course certificate of completion document 
must indicate how many hours the individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 
a. Ford Drivability Solutions (Master Technician Series) 
b. GM Drivability Solutions (Master Technician Series) 
c. Diagnosing the Top Toyota Drivability Problems (Master Technician Series) 
d. Rapid Diagnostics: Going Beyond the Code (Master Technician Series) 
e. Asian Import Drivability Solutions (Real World Training Series) 
f. EVAP Code Diagnosis (Real World Training Series) 
g. 10 Modes to Fix Codes (Real World Training Series) 
h. Diagnose and Repair Vehicle Networks (Real World Training Series) 
i. Induction System Diagnosis and Repair (Real World Training Series) 
 

7. Lexus Engine Control Systems II: The course certificate of completion document must indicate how many 
hours    the individual attended toward the minimum of 12 hours training. 

 
Note: Only original certificates, transcripts or letters will be accepted for proof of training and must include the date 
of completion and an original signature by a representative of the training provider as well as the number of hours 
attended. 

https://dmv.nv.gov/
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