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THIRD PARTY CERTIFIER AGREEMENT 
49 CFR 383.75, NAC 483 

 
I understand the authorization to administer commercial skills tests, pursuant to the provision of NRS 
483.912 and NAC 483, is dependent upon my agreement to the following: 
 
1) INSPECTIONS/AUDITS 

a) The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, its representatives, and the Nevada Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV) may conduct random examinations, inspection and audits without prior notice. 

b) At a minimum, the Nevada DMV will conduct covert and overt audits of all Third Party Certifiers at 
least once every two years. 

c) At a minimum, the Nevada DMV will conduct covert and overt audits of all Third Party Certifiers that 
also instruct any portion of the skills tests at least once a year. 

d) Allow the Department to do any of the following: 
1. Have State employees covertly take the tests administered by the Third Party Certifier as if the 

State employee were a test applicant; or 
2. Have State employees co-score along with the Third Party Certifier during CDL skills tests to 

compare pass/fail results; or 
3. Have the Department re-test a sample of drivers who were examined by the Third Party Certifier. 
4. Maintain proper records at its principal place of business for each skills test administered by a 

Third Party Certifier associated to the Third Party Company or School. 
5. Maintain the Third Party records/CDL skills test scoring sheet for the current year and the past 

two calendar years. 
6. Maintain a current copy of the State Certificate authorizing the third party company to administer 

a CDL skills testing program for the classes and types of commercial motor vehicles listed. 
 

2) STANDARDS 

a) The Third Party Company or School is to use only commercial driver’s license (CDL) skills examiners 
who have successfully completed a formal CDL skills test examiner training course, as prescribed 
by state training curriculum, and have been certified by the state as a CDL Third Party Certifier 
qualified to administer CDL skills tests: 
1. The test given will be the same as that administered by the Nevada Department of Motor 

Vehicles; and 
2. Third Party Certifiers are fingerprinted and pass a nationwide background checked for: 

a) Any felony conviction within the last 10 years; or 
b) Any conviction involving fraudulent activities. 

b) The skills test training course includes: 
1. Initial certification – complete a 40-hour course provided by the DMV for administering skills test 

for a commercial driver’s license. 
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2. Recertification – within four years, must complete a 40-hour course provided by the DMV. 
a) If expired over 90 days they must start the application process as if a new certifier. 

c) Using the Commercial Skills Test Information Management System (CSTIMS) to transmit skills tests 
schedules and scores is required. 

d) A Third Party Certifier to only use: 
1. Approved locations for testing vehicle inspections; and 
2. Basic skills test pad exercise dimensions that have been approved by the Department; and 
3. Designated road test routes approved by the Department. 

e) Must only conduct skills test in vehicles that are inspected annually and the results recorded on a 
Department approved form. 

f) A Third Party Certifier must maintain a valid driver license in the same class he/she is authorized to 
certify other drivers. 

g) May only perform skills tests for no more than two different Third Party Company’s or Schools with 
Department approval. 

h) Must ensure that vehicles used to perform are maintained and safe to use prior to skills testing. 
i) Must ensure the CLP holder adheres to the requirements pertaining to the CLP. 
j) Must ensure the base license and CLP are not expired prior to skills testing. 
k) While administering a skills test, shall remain alert and be in a physical and mental state that renders 

them capable of taking physical control of the vehicle, if necessary. 
l) At a minimum Third Party Certifiers must perform 10 skills tests for 10 different applicants annually. 

Exception: A Third Party Certifier that does not perform the minimum skills test may be offered one 
of the following by the Department: 
1. Take a 40 hour skills test refresher; or 
2. Have a state examiner ride along to observe the Third Party Certifier successfully administer at 

least one skills test. 
m) An exception must be completed within 90 days or the certifier must start the entire process over to 

become a Third Party Certifier. 
 
3) NOTIFICATIONS 

a) The DMV will be notified within ten days if: 
1. The Third Party certifier does not maintain a valid driver license in the same class he/she is 

authorized to certify other drivers. 
2. The Third Party Company or School changes address or the basic control skills testing location. 

 
4) PROHIBITIONS 

a) Third Party Certifiers employed by a Third Party School may only certify the driving ability of students 
enrolled in their respective drive school. 

b) Third Party Certifiers employed by a Third Party Company may only certify its own employees. 
c) A Third Party Certifier who is also a skills instructor will not skills test individuals that he/she trained. 
d) Third Party Certifiers must not have had a driver’s license, suspended or revoked in any state in the 

past 7 years. 
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e) A Third Party Certifier may only perform vehicle inspections at locations approved by the Department 
CDL Third Party Coordinator. 

f) A Third Party Certifier may only perform backing control skills tests at locations approved by the 
Department’s CDL Third Party Coordinator.  Backing Control Skills testing pad dimensions must 
meet the requirements of the 2005 CDL examiners manual version 2014. 

g) A Third Party Certifier may only perform road tests on routes approved by the Department’s CDL 
Third Party Coordinator. 

h) A Third Party Certifier may not certify the driving ability of a driver unless they have at their disposal 
at least one vehicle requiring the same type and class of driver’s license as the type and class of the 
CLP holder.  

 
5) COMMERCIAL SKILLS TESTING INFORMATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEM (CSTIMS) 

a) All CLP holders must be scheduled into CSTIMS prior to skills testing. 
b) All CLP holders must carry a base license and be issued and hold a CLP for 14 days prior to being 

administered any CDL skills tests. 
c) All CLP holders must be scheduled to skills test no less than four days prior to performing skills 

testing, whether original or retesting skills testing will be performed. 
d) All CDL skills test scores must be entered into CSTIMS by the Third Party Certifier that administered 

the test. 
e) Third Party Company, School or Certifiers shall collect and submit to CSTIMS only such PII from 

CDL applicants that are believed to be accurate, complete, timely and relevant as required to 
accomplish their responsibilities. 

f) Driver personally identifiable information (PII) entered and maintained in CSTIMS may not be 
disclosed except by the Department. 

g) Access to CSTIMS and the ability to perform CDL skills tests may be discontinued if at any time the 
Third Party Company, School or Certifier becomes expired, canceled, suspended, revoked or if the 
Department determines it is the best interest to stop CDL skill testing. 

h) Contact the CDL Third Party Coordinator if having problems using CSTIMS. 
i) All CSTIMS users must complete an annual CSTIMS privacy awareness training. 
j) Only a Third Party Certifier is permitted to enter scores into CSTIMS. 
k) Test scores must be recorded into CSTIMS immediately after the skills test is administered. 
l) Skills tests must be administered within 30 minutes of their scheduled appointment time or the test 

must be canceled and rescheduled.  Exception:  A Third Party Certifier may contact the Third Party 
CDL Coordinator for approval if circumstances out of their control prevent the test from being 
administered at the scheduled time but can be administered on the same day.  Comments must be 
recorded into the “Comments box” in CSTIMS. 

m) Skills test scores entered into CSTIMS may only be updated within one day of entry. 
n) Once a score is entered into CSTIMS, the CDL Third Party Coordinator must be informed of any 

changes made to that score within the one day time period. 
o) After the one day time has elapsed, the CDL Third Party Coordinator must be contacted if information 

is entered incorrectly so it can be corrected. 
p) Once a Third Party Certifier is provided access to CSTIMS, it is forbidden to share this access with 

anyone. 
q) A Third Party Certifier must have an email address in order for CSTIMS access to be assigned. 
r) Third party Certifiers must enter test scores in CSTIMS from the Company location or a location 
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approved by the Department.  Scores are not to be entered from another location. I.e. home, coffee 
house, etc. 

s) A Third Party Responsible Party (RP) or another Third Party Certifier cannot enter scores on behalf 
of the Third Party Certifier that administered the skills test.  If an RP or another Third Party Certifier 
enters a score in error, the CDL Third Party Coordinator must be contacted immediately.  If an RP 
to another Third Party Certifier continues to record scores for tests they did not administer both the 
RP and/or the other Certifier and the certifier that administered the skills test may be suspended for 
up to 30 days. 

t) Third Party certifiers that fail to meet the 10 test requirement will be made inactive in CSTIMS until 
an observation drive has been performed or a 40 hour recertification class has been completed if 
the Department approves the exception to the 10 test requirement. 

u) Certifiers that are inactive for more than 90 days must start the entire process over to become a 
Third Party Certifier. 

 
6) PROMPT AND REMEDIAL ACTION 

The Nevada DMV reserves the right to take immediate, prompt and appropriate remedial actions against 
any Third Party Company, School, certifier, owner, instructor or employee in the event the Third Party 
Company, School or Certifier fails to comply with the state or federal standards for the Commercial 
Driver License testing program, or with any other terms of this agreement. 

 
7) CONFIDENTIALITY 

Each party shall keep confidential all information, in whatever form, produced, prepared, observed or 
received by that party to the extent that such information is confidential by law or otherwise required by 
this Contract.  To the extent the party observes, receives or possesses “personal information” from the 
files and records of the Department of Motor Vehicles, the party shall keep this information confidential 
and shall not disclose any “personal information” from the files and records of the Department of Motor 
Vehicles for a use not permitted by NRS 481.063.  There are criminal and civil penalties attached to the 
unlawful use and/or disclosure of this information.  “Personal information” is the information that reveals 
the identity of a person, including, without limitation, a photograph, social security number, individual 
taxpayer identification number, driver’s license number, identification card number, name, address, 
telephone number or information regarding a medical condition. 

 
I certify all statements on this application are true and correct, and that I am authorized representative of the 
company or school for training drivers named on this application.  I hereby agree to comply with the provisions 
listed above. 

 

Company or School Name:  

Certifier Name:  Title: 
 

Signature:  Date: 
 

Certifier email address:  
 

Third Party Coordinator:  

Third Party Coordinator Signature:  Date:  
 

Signatures must be originals.  Photocopies are not acceptable. 
Changes may not be made to this form once it is signed. 
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