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Good morning, my name is _____________________ 
Today’s class is about emission testing diesel vehicles in Nevada.  We will learn the 
requirements to become licensed and the proper and safe procedures to complete diesel 
emission inspections.  This class will prepare you to pass the written and practical exams.
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Class overview includes:
• Licensing procedures
• NRS and NAC sections 445b. as they pertain to diesel emission testing  
• Approved test equipment
• Test procedures
• Safety recommendations
• Customer service recommendations
• Inspector’s and station owner’s responsibilities
• Pre-practical training checklist

Please note: This class is open to all relevant questions and discussion.  
We encourage you to take notes in your Diesel Inspector’s Workbook, so you can 
refer to them during the open-book written exam and at any future time during 
your diesel emission testing career.
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The laws that regulate diesel emission testing in Nevada are in section 445b of 
Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS). The associated regulations are in section 445b of 
the Nevada Administrative Code (NAC). Regulations are an interpretation of how 
the laws are to be implemented. Emergency, temporary, proposed, and adopted 
regulations that have not yet been codified are posted on the Nevada Legislature 
website, listed in the Nevada Register.

NRS, NAC, and the Nevada Register are available on the internet at:
https://www.leg.state.nv.us
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For gas emission inspectors and stations, Nevada has two classes of licenses. Class 1 is 
licensed to perform emission inspections only, class 2 is licensed to perform emission 
inspections and diagnose, adjust, repair, and install emission components. For diesel 
inspectors and stations, Nevada only has the D rating, since diesel repairs are not 
regulated. The D rating would simply be added to your G license. If you are not a 
gasoline emission inspector, you can be licensed as a Diesel only inspector.
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To become licensed as a diesel emission inspector, you’ll need to complete this class, 
take and pass the written exam with a score of 80% or higher, then take the practical 
exam without error. The diesel practical exam is administered at your place of work, 
using your employer’s approved test equipment. If you fail either the written or 
practical exams, you will not be allowed to retest for 7 days. If you fail a second written 
or practical exam, you will need to retrain before taking the test a third time. You will 
need to know how to maintain and calibrate the test equipment.  Refer to the diesel 
emission test procedure information sheet.
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To change your place of employment or add an additional employer, you’ll need a Certificate 
of Employment completed and signed by your new employer and completed by you. Do not 
sign the form until instructed to do so at the Occupational Business License counter inside 
DMV.
The Diesel Inspector license must be renewed every two years.
You may attempt to renew your license 90 days prior to expiration.
To renew Diesel Inspector license, complete the Diesel recertification class and take and 
pass the written exam with a score of 80% or higher.
Bring a new Certificate of Employment, your old license, and $25.00 to the Occupational 
License counter inside the DMV to renew.

Fees:
New license $25.00
Biennial renewal $25.00
Additional location $2.00
Transfer location $2.00

There is no charge to add Diesel rating to a current Gas license.

Beginning July 2015, DMV will be adding a Technology Fee to each transaction.
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Emissions station licenses and emission inspectors’ licenses are to be displayed between 
four and six feet from the floor in an area frequented by customers.
Business hours are to be posted in an area frequented by customers. Minimum business 
hours are: 8:00 – 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. These hours are considered normal 
business hours and must be adhered to.
For a station that has only one licensed inspector, the return time must be posted in any 
instance where the station is closed during normal business hours.
Station must employ at least one full-time inspector with a D rating.
Must inspect all Diesel-powered motor vehicles that require a test that are presented at 
the station unless there is a safety issue. Remember-No pre-testing.
Required reference material:
NRS & NAC sections 445b, pertaining to vehicle emission testing.
Emission Control Application guides or equivalent information sources.
Test equipment owner’s manual.

All Vehicle Inspection Reports must be accompanied by a printout of the opacity readings.
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Diesel inspectors are expected to:
1. Understand the maintenance, calibration and operation of the inspection equipment.
2. Understand how to perform a vehicle inspection correctly, completely, and safely.
3. Determine whether an emission inspection is required.
4. Inspect any diesel-powered motor vehicle requiring an inspection that is presented at 

the station, unless it cannot be tested safely.
5. Do not pre-test. Pre-testing is a violation of regulation.
6. Follow correct and safe test procedures.
7. Determine the Manufacturer’s GVWR. Remember, greater than 14,000 pounds is 

exempt.
8. Determine the year, make and model of each vehicle.
9. Determine if a vehicle is all-wheel-drive or has traction control.
10. Determine what equipment the state of Nevada and USEPA require to be present. 
11. Locate and determine that all required equipment is present and appears functional.
12. Be able to demonstrate the operation of any emission information source used at the 

station where they are employed.
13. Understand NRS & NAC sections 445b
14. Keep yourself educated with current and future emission technology in the diesel 

industry.
15. Notify the lab within ten days if you leave the employment of any station.
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Pre - testing is revealing a failing condition to the customer prior to issuing a failing VIR. You 
are required to perform the entire inspection and test, then issue a VIR with the results.
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Our duties include: 
• Educating inspectors, both in the classroom and in the field with what’s called field 

remedial training.
• We audit emission stations and inspectors.
• We organize and implement the covert audit program.
• We audit Nevada used car dealers for emission compliance.
• We accept applications for waivers, and grant some of them.
• We are responsible for testing inspectors, both with written and practical exams.
• We serve as a referee for smoking vehicles.
• We issue engine swap and vehicle emission control information forms.
• We assist in developing inspector training and testing materials.
• We assist in performing regression testing of software and emission test hardware.
• We ride with the Heavy-Duty Diesel enforcement officer, who stops over-the-road 

trucks that are smoking.  We perform a roadside snap-idle opacity test.  If the truck 
fails, the enforcement officer writes the truck driver a ticket.

• We perform challenge tests. A challenge test is used to validate the overall test results.
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DMV Emission Technicians are legally permitted to openly monitor activities at 
emission stations. This is called random field remedial training.  It may occur at any 
time in your emission testing career. Within the first 60 days of receiving a new 
inspector’s license, the DMV auditor will come to your place of business and have you 
perform an emission inspection. If any procedural or safety procedures are not 
followed, the error will be noted on a performance report. You and your manager will 
be required to sign the report. You’ll get another chance to pass the overt audit in 
the future. Performance reports are stored in the station’s and inspector’s 
permanent files.
Any violation or potential violation of state or federal law observed during any audit 
could trigger additional covert audits at the station.
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An emission technician will audit your emission station at least once per month.
All emission stations are required to have the following on display:
1. Station license
2. Inspector licenses
3. Business license
4. Outdoor metal emission station sign
5. Indoor information placard
6. NAC & NRS sections that pertain to emission testing (section 445b)
7. Test equipment operator’s manual
8. Current emission device application guide (or Alldata or Mitchell-on-Demand)

Note: All inspectors must have access to and be able to demonstrate that they are capable 
of retrieving emission device application information from the system.
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These are examples of licenses that are properly posted.
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The Department will conduct covert audits on all stations and inspectors. Items like 
customer complaints, previous failed covert audits, remedial trainings, irregularities 
reported to the state emission database, and station violations during monthly audits can 
trigger additional covert audits beyond the annual requirement.
For use in a covert inspection, a motor vehicle’s emission control system will be altered so 
that an approved inspector, using due care and following the prescribed testing procedures, 
will be able to readily, visually, identify the emission control system or component that has 
been tampered with, is missing, or appears inoperable.
If a violation occurs during a covert audit, the Department will issue a preliminary written 
notice of violation to the emission inspector, to be followed with the Notice of Violation by 
certified mail within five business days.
If you receive any notice of violation, read it carefully.  If you have any questions, ask the 
investigator to explain.
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Covert Violations
Inspector:
The Department may impose administrative fines or other penalties against an emission inspector 
for any violation of NAC 445B.580, 5805 or 589 (test procedure) during a covert audit. Violations 
occurring within the most recent two years are classified as current violations.
First violation-Cease and desist order and required to attend a class conducted by the Department.
Second violation-Impose a $250 fine, 10-day license suspension, and successfully complete an 
educational course that is approved by the Department.
Third violation-Impose a $500 fine, and 90-day license suspension.
Fourth violation-Permanent revocation of the emission inspector’s license.
Station owner:
The Department may impose administrative fines or other penalties against an emission station 
owner for any violation of NAC 445B.580, 5805 or 589 during a covert audit. Violations occurring 
within the most recent two years are considered to be current violations.
First violation-Will receive a Written Notice.
Second violation-Require the station owner or his authorized representative to attend a class 
conducted by the Department.
Third violation-Impose a fine of $1,000
Fourth violation-Permanent revocation of the emission station license.
Additional criminal penalties may be pursued by the Department.
Civil penalties may be pursued by an individual customer.
If an emission inspector’s license has been revoked by the Department pursuant to this section, he 
shall not directly or indirectly engage in any activity related to performing emission inspections.
Station owners are responsible for any action or omission that their employee commits as part of 
their employment.
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Non-covert

Inspector:
The Department may impose administrative fines for violations occurring within a 2-year 
period, according to the following schedule:
First offense-A fine of not less than $100, or more than $500.
Second offense-A fine of not less than $500, or more than $1,000.
Third offense-A fine of not less than $1,000, or more than $1,500.
Fourth or subsequent offense-A fine of not less than $1,500, or more than $2,500.

Station owner:
The Department may impose administrative fines for violations occurring within a 2-year 
period, according to the following schedule:
First offense-A fine of not less than $100, or more than $500.
Second offense-A fine of not less than $500, or more than $1,000.
Third offense-A fine of not less than $1,000, or more than $1,500.
Fourth or subsequent offense-A fine of not less than $1,500, or more than $2,500.

Some examples of non-covert violations:
Station not open during normal business hours
Refusing to test a vehicle presented at the facility
Signage issue
Licenses not posted properly
Failure to follow screen prompts
Return time not posted on a single-inspector station that is closed during normal business 
hours
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Administrative fines:

The Department will impose fines for violations not during a covert audit, occurring within the 2-year
period immediately preceding the most recent

offense according to the following schedule:

(a) For a first offense, a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500.

(b) For a second offense, a fine of not less than $500 or more than $1,000.

(c) For a third offense, a fine of not less than $1,000 or more than $1,500.

(d) For a fourth or subsequent offense, a fine of not less than $1,500 or more than $2,500.

For the purposes of paragraphs (b), (c) and (d), a cease and desist order issued by the Department
shall be deemed to be a first offense.

For violations on a covert audit, the Department will impose such penalties for violations occurring
within a 2-year period, according to the following

schedule:

(a) For a first offense, issue a written notice.

(b) For a second offense, require the owner of the test station or his authorized representative to
successfully complete an educational course which is established and conducted by the
Department, not later than the date specified in the notice of the violation.

(c) For a third offense, impose a fine of $1,000.

(d) For a fourth offense, revoke the license of the owner to operate the test station.

An owner of a test station whose license is revoked by the Department pursuant to this section shall not
directly or indirectly engage in any activity

related to emission control inspections of motor vehicles, if the violation was knowing or willful or
involved fraud.

Additional civil penalties may be pursued by the Department or an individual customer.
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Diesel powered vehicles within the applicable year and weight range, including vehicles owned by the 
State and other political subdivisions, are required to be inspected annually for registration and 
renewal if they are based in the emissions Inspection and Maintenance (I/M) areas in Nevada. 

In Washoe County, the entire area south of the 40 degrees north latitude.
In Clark County, the entire hydrographic basin 212, including the 5-mile buffer shown in purple.

There are exempt areas in each county.  In Washoe County, Crystal Bay, Nixon, Wadsworth, Empire, 
Incline Village and Sutcliffe are exempt. In Clark County, Goodsprings is exempt.

In the Reno area there are three zip codes shared between Washoe and Storey Counties.  They are: 
89434, 89511, and 89521. If the vehicle is based in Washoe County with any of these zip codes, it 
does need to be tested, and if it’s based in Storey County with any of these zip codes it’s exempt. 
The only two counties that require testing for registration and renewal are Clark and Washoe.
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Change of ownership –
Private party sales:
The buyer is required to obtain the emission inspection, not the seller. The seller is 
responsible for all required emission equipment being installed and appearing functional.

Nevada dealer sales:
On dealer sales, a passing VIR is required to be presented to the buyer along with the 
Dealer Report of Sale (DRS). In addition, the dealer is responsible for all required emission 
equipment being present and appearing functional, regardless of the vehicle’s age.
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Exempt vehicles:

• All diesel vehicles with a Manufacturer’s GVWR greater than 14,000 pounds
• Motorcycles
• Apportioned vehicles that are not based in the I/M program areas in Nevada
• Classic Vehicles, Classic Rods, and Old Timers that have been driven less than 5000 miles 

in the last year
• Transfer of ownership within 90 days of most current passing VIR
• Transfer of ownership between spouses
• All vehicles that will have been registered for less than 36 months
• All vehicles with a model year prior to 1968
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It is the inspector’s responsibility to make an accurate determination whether an emission 
inspection is required for registration or renewal.

Interview your customer using the ‘Six Questions’

1. Why do you need a smog?
a) It must be for registration purposes

2. Did you just purchase this vehicle from a dealer or private party?
a) If purchased from a Nevada dealer, the dealer is required to supply a passing VIR with the 

Dealer Report of Sale (DRS)
3. How far have you driven the vehicle?

a) The inspector needs to confirm that the vehicle is properly warmed up
4. What city do you live in?

a) It must be a city where emission test is required
5. What county do you live in?

a) It must be a county where a test is required for registration or renewal
6. What is your zip code?

a) It must be a zip code that is not an exempt area

If you encounter any of these vehicles, they need to be brought to the Emission Lab prior to 
testing:

Gray market cars: These are cars that were never intended to be sold in the USA.
Engine swaps: Vehicles that do not have the original year or type of engine.
Home built or Assembled vehicles: Kit cars, dune buggies, rock crawlers.
These three types of vehicles need to come to the emission lab, so that we can issue documentation 
that explains how to properly test these vehicles.
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The Emission Control label provides information using diagrams, codes, acronyms, and 
written information.
Where are the Emission Control Labels located on diesel powered vehicles?
8,500–14,000 GVWR-should be located on the engine, normally on the valve or timing cover
up to 8,499 GVWR-should be located in the engine compartment 
Information needed from Emission Control Label
Catalyst(s)
Particulate Filter/Trap
EGR
Manufacturer’s Advertised Horsepower 
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What Emission control devices are required for this vehicle?
Catalyst
What is the Advertised Horsepower?
195 hp
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What Emission control devices are required for this vehicle?
Catalyst
Particulate Filter/Trap (PTOX)
EGR

How do you handle missing emission label or a label that doesn’t list the 
advertised horsepower? 
If the label is missing, you’ll determine the required equipment by using 
your Emission Device Application Guide or Alldata. For the horsepower, 
you’ll  need to look in your Specification Guide.
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What Emission control devices are required for this vehicle?
• Catalyst
• Particulate Filter/Trap (PTOX)

• EGR

Where do we find the Advertised Horsepower?
• 350 hp
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What Emission control devices are required for this vehicle?
• Catalyst
• EGR

Where do we find the Advertised Horsepower?
• 325 hp
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This label is from a 2004 Ford F250, as this is a heavy duty vehicle this isn’t the only label 
that you will need to obtain all the information needed to complete the emission test.

What information is missing? Mfgs. Advertised HP

Where would you look to find the Mfgs. Advertised HP? Label found on the engine (refer to 
slide #26, #27)
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This can normally be found on the drivers door post. 

Remember when you read a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating sticker do not use the Gross Axle 
Weight Rating! 

Be sure to use “ POUNDS” not KILOGRAMS !!
Shows date of manufacture and other information.
If there is no GVWR you will need to call the Emission Lab in your area.
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This is an Emissions Exception Vehicle Report. 
This takes the place of the Vehicle Emission Control Information label.
We issue these to replace a missing under hood label, for assembled vehicles, and for engine 
swaps.  On diesel vehicles, it’s usually for a missing label.
If you have any questions on testing one of these vehicles, contact your local State of Nevada 
Emission Lab.   
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Properly chock the wheels
Turn off all accessories
Position the vehicle on the dyno
Properly restrain the vehicle using the dyno manufacturer’s guidelines
May place a cooling fan about one foot in front of radiator

Diesel vehicles need to be emission tested for registration if they are:
1968 to current model year
MGVWR is less than 14,001 pounds
A resident of the testable areas of Clark or Washoe County

But not if:
The vehicle has been registered less than three 12-month registration cycles
The vehicle is based outside the testable areas of Clark or Washoe County
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The only problem vehicles that you’re likely to get at your diesel emission inspection 
station would be all-wheel-drive and traction controlled vehicles. If you attempt to 
emission test an all-wheel-drive diesel vehicle on a single-axle dyno, the vehicle will 
likely jump right off of the dyno, causing injury and damage. Even though most traction-
controlled vehicles have a switch to defeat the traction control system, manufacturers 
recommend that you not test these vehicles on a single axle dyno.  Extensive damage can 
occur even with the traction control system turned off.
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Under NAC445B.452, tampering is defined as: Rendering inoperative or intentional mis-
adjustment of any motor vehicle device or element of design intended to control exhaust 
emissions. 

Let’s examine what this means. If any part of any emission system is no longer working 
properly, Nevada considers the system tampered. The Nevada emission test doesn’t require 
you to examine every emission system that is installed on the vehicle, only systems that are 
listed on the VIR. Remember if all of the parts of the system are not installed and 
connected, the system does not appear functional, therefore it is tampered.

On 1968 through 1980 diesel vehicles the only equipment we visually inspect is the fuel 
cap(s).
On 1981 and newer diesel vehicles, in addition to the fuel cap we visually inspect for: 
catalyst(s), particulate filter/trap, EGR system, and crankcase vent system.
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Application guides, specifications, and repair information are available in various forms.
1. Paper bound books
2. CD rom disks
3. Online services
4. Motor reference guide, (ph) 1-800-426-6867, or contact your MATCO dealer
5. Alldata  1-800-697-2533
6. Mitchell On-Demand and Mitchell Pro-Demand, (ph) 1-888-724-6742 or contact your 

Snap-On dealer
7. Printed Mitchell 1 reference guide, (ph) 1-888-724-6742, or visit www.mitchell1.com 
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Under the correct temperature conditions, the noble metals in the catalytic converter will 
convert hydrocarbons and oxygen to CO2 and water. Catalytic converters used differ from 
the catalytic converters used in gasoline applications, and they cannot successfully be 
substituted for each other.

Newer diesel vehicles are frequently equipped with a particulate filter or particulate trap. 
These can be in front of, behind, or in the same housing as the catalytic converter.

The catalyst tamper inspection is the same as other tamper inspections. Is the device 
installed, and does it appear to be functional? The label (or application guide) will tell you 
how many and what type of catalyst is required. Your job is to make an accurate 
determination whether the catalyst is installed and appears functional.

You are required to use whatever information sources that you find necessary to make an 
accurate determination for the required devices and configuration for a vehicle’s catalytic 
converter(s) and particulate filter or particulate trap.  Don’t forget, you will be certifying 
that the entire system is installed and appears to be functional. 
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The most commonly used catalytic converter is the Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC). DOCs 
contain Palladium / Platinum with Aluminum oxide, which serve as catalysts to oxidize the 
hydrocarbons and carbon monoxide with oxygen to form carbon dioxide and water. 
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Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC) and Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) - Passat
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Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC) and Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) - Ford F250 -2008
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What can you see in this picture?

• Diesel Oxidation Catalyst (DOC)

How many Catalytic Converters?

• One Oxidation Catalyst (front) / One Particulate Filter (rear)
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What is a DPF?

The Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) is integrated into modern diesel engine exhaust systems,
designed to trap and safely remove particulate soot matter from the exhaust gasses of diesel
engines. The aim of the filter is to remove a minimum of 80% particulate soot matter from the
diesel engine exhaust gasses before they exit into our atmosphere.

Nearly all diesel cars, vans, trucks and other commercial vehicles, built after 2006 have a DPF
(Diesel Particulate Filter). Quite a few vehicles have had them fitted since 2001 including Fiat,
Peugeot and Citroen.

Being a filter, its job is to capture and store soot particles produced during the engine
combustion process from entering the atmosphere, then every so many miles the engine will
enter a regeneration cycle which is supposed to clean the filter by burning the soot and
turning it into ash.
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Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) and Oxidation Catalyst (OC) integrated in one system.
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Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) - Stand alone
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Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) – 2007 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD
After pre-treatment in an upstream oxidizing catalyst, exhaust gas passes through the 
diesel particulate filter (DPF) where particulate matter (soot) is captured and held in a 
honeycomb cell structure.
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Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) and Oxidation Catalyst (OC) that work together to remove 
97% of particulate matter (soot) -2008 Ford F250
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Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) - Ford
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Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF) – 2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee 
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EGR System

Oxides of Nitrogen (NOX) emissions have been a big problem on diesel engines. One method 
to control NOX emissions is to recirculate some exhaust back into the air intake, a system 
called Exhaust Gas Recirculation (EGR). EGR reduces the combustion temperatures to below 
2,500 degrees Fahrenheit, which prevents the formation of NOX emissions. 

If the EGR system becomes inoperative, NOX emissions increase. Nevada test procedure 
measures opacity, not NOX emissions, so the tamper inspection of the EGR system is 
critical.

Just like the catalyst and particle filter, you are required to use whatever data sources are 
required to make absolutely certain that the device is installed, and the system appears to 
be functional.
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EGR Valve
Chevrolet and GMC Duramax
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EGR Valve
Dodge Ram 3500 Cummins
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EGR Valve
VW 1.9 Liter

•50



Special Instructions

EGR Valve 
Ford Super Duty 6.0 Liter (2004)

•51



Special Instructions

EGR Coolers
Ford Super Duty 6.0 Liter (2003-2007) Factory (OEM) EGR Cooler on (left) Manifold.
• Tubing is round
Aftermarket EGR Cooler on (right) Manifold.
• Tubing is square
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EGR Valve and EGR Cooler 
Chevrolet and GMC Duramax
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EGR Cooler bypass
Ford Super Duty 6.0 Liter (2003)
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EGR Cooler bypass
Ford Super Duty 6.0 Liter (2003)
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EGR Cooler 
What EGR Cooler should look like.
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EGR Coolers / EGR block-off plate
Stock coolers compared to coolant block-off plate.
Stock EGR valve compared to EGR block off plate.
Stock up-pipe compared to stainless steel up-pipe.
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All diesel engines have some sort of crankcase ventilation system. Some of the oldest 
systems vent to atmosphere. Newer systems capture the gasses and direct them back into 
the air intake so that they can be burned.

We need to make sure that hoses, fittings, clamps, etc., are all installed so that the 
crankcase fumes go where the engine manufacturer intended.
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They both perform the same basic task that is to draw blowby gasses 
out of the crankcase and mixing them with the incoming air. Both 
systems are designed to maintain a specific pressure in the crankcase, 
too much pressure can cause oil leaks, too little pressure and oil can be 
drawn into the engine air intake. REMEMBER, UNLIKE A GASOLINE 
ENGINE A DIESEL CAN ACTUALLY RUN ON IT’S OWN ENGINE OIL 
AND SINCE YOU CAN ONLY SHUT IT DOWN BY DEPRIVING ITOF 
FUEL IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG WITH THIS SYSTEM IT CAN 
ACTUALLY RUN UNTIL IT RUNS OUT OF MOTOR OIL!!!
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Dodge Cummins 6.7 Liter

The crankcase ventilation system, purges crankcase gases to intake 
manifold. The crankcase ventilation system consists of 5 main elements, 
(1) expansion chamber separator, (2) cyclonic oil separator unit 
w/integral pressure limiting valve, (3) stainless steel check valve, (4) oil 
collection chamber and (5) pressure regulating valve.
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Crankcase Depression Regulator Valve V-Type (Oldsmobile)



Special Instructions

Crankcase Ventilation
GMC 6.5 Liter Duramax
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Closed Crankcase Ventilation system (CCV) 
Dodge Cummins 6.7 Liter
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Closed Crankcase Ventilation system (CCV) 
Dodge Cummins 6.7 Liter
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Closed Crankcase Ventilation system (CCV) 
Dodge Cummins 6.7 Liter
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The fuel cap is the last of the tamper inspections. The cap must be the correct cap, must 
fit properly, and the seal must be good. You will be certifying that the caps for all tanks 
that supply the engine (including dual and auxiliary tanks) properly seal.  

Generator fuel tanks and supply tanks for construction equipment are not subject to this 
inspection.
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This 2014 Ram pickup has a capless fuel filler.  The dustcap that the inspector is holding is 
NOT required to be installed on the vehicle.  It is only used during vehicle assembly, and 
was supposed to be removed during pre-delivery inspection.  Unless you see bent, broken, or 
damaged filler, enter it as a pass.
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Pass or Fail?
• Fail - rubber seal is split and there's a chunk missing.
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The only time you may write on a Vehicle Inspection Report is to sign off on a fuel cap 
failure.  Once you have verified that the fuel cap has been replaced with a correct, 
properly sealing cap, you will then write your inspector license number, the date, and your 
signature next to the fuel cap failure.

Make sure that your customer understands that they will need to mail or bring the VIR, 
renewal form, and payment to DMV.  Renewal cannot be processed online, since the 
electronic VIR still shows a fail result. You do not need to be the inspector or station that 
originally inspected the vehicle. Any inspector can sign off a fuel cap failure, including 
Emission Technicians at the emission lab. 
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This is a list of Dynamometers and Opacity Meters certified by the state.  Before 
purchasing new equipment, obtain the current list from the DMV website or the emissions 
lab in your area.
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NAC 445B.589 Testing of light-duty motor vehicles powered by 
diesel engines: Procedure; certificate of compliance; effect of 
failure. (NRS 445B.785)

1. An inspector shall comply with the following procedure when 
testing a light-duty motor vehicle powered by a diesel engine:

(a) The test procedure must include, without limitation, a preparation 
phase, a tampering inspection phase and an opacity test phase.

(b) In the preparation phase:
(1) The vehicle must be placed on a dynamometer, the 

transmission must be placed in neutral and the vehicle must be properly 
restrained to prevent any rolling motion.

(2) The inspector may place an auxiliary cooling fan into position 
approximately 12 inches in front of

the cooling system of the motor vehicle.
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(3) The inspector shall then affix a smoke opacity meter which has been calibrated and 
zeroed to the exhaust system of the vehicle according to the recommendations of the 
manufacturer of the meter. Vehicles with dual exhaust configurations must have the 
smoke opacity meter attached to the exhaust pipe displaying the highest observed 
opacity.

(4) If an exhaust removal system is used, it must be installed so that all of the exhaust 
from the vehicle being tested is passed through the smoke opacity meter.

(c) In the tampering inspection phase, the inspector shall visually inspect:
(1) All vehicles with a model year of 1981 or newer to ensure that all equipment for 

emission control which is listed on the manufacturer’s emission label is present and 
appears to be operational; and

(2) All vehicles to verify the presence of a properly installed fuel cap.
(d) During the opacity test phase, the inspector shall:

(1) Verify that the vehicle is at normal operating temperature before beginning the 
test. If the vehicle has cooled down below its normal operating temperature during its 
placement on the dynamometer, it must be operated until its normal operating 
temperature is reached.
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Test vehicles with varying engine sizes under the following speed and 
load conditions:

5 cylinders are tested as a 6 cylinder
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The inspector is required to accelerate to and maintain 40 miles per 
hour for 10 seconds, then store and print the opacity reading. The 
printed opacity reading is to be attached to the printed VIR. The VIR is 
not complete or valid without the opacity printout.
The inspector shall issue the vehicle inspection report indicating the 
results of the test. The test result will be pass if the vehicle passes 
both the tampering inspection and the opacity test phase. Standards for 
opacity are set forth in NAC 445B.576. A vehicle which exceeds the 
opacity standards or which fails the tampering inspection will show an 
overall result of fail, and the inspector shall issue a vehicle inspection 
report indicating the failure.
A vehicle which fails for tampering or opacity must be repaired and 
retested, except gas cap.
Once you have verified that the fuel cap has been replaced with a 
correct, properly sealing cap, you will then write your inspector license 
number, the date, and your signature next to the fuel cap failure.
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What altitude is Las Vegas?

• Below 4,000 ft.

The standard is?

• 30% max

What Altitude is Reno?

• Above 4,000 ft.

The standard is?

• 40% max



Special Instructions

To show Video’s:

• Right click on Video at bottom of Slide
• Click on Open Hyperlink from list
• Once file is open choose video

Video Content:

• Example of various opacity levels.
• Examples of how dangerous a dyno can be.

I:\Emissions\Training and Tests\Diesel Class\dyno videos
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Click on PDF to open Inspector Gateway
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Click on Generate Access Code
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Highlight access code and copy, so it can be pasted in later in the process
Click on Launch Diesel Test Login Page
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Diesel Inspector login page to the VID
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Enter Inspector MEI# for User Logon ID
Enter Inspector Password
Click Submit

•81



Special Instructions

Click in Access Code area and paste access code in that was copied from Slide#73
Click Continue
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Access code should appear in the Access Code area
Click Continue
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Click on New Inspection under “Diesel” in the left hand column
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Vehicle Information page to start the test!
• Inspector needs to fill in blank fields with vehicle information
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Vehicle Information page to start the test!
• Vehicle information entered
• Click Continue
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Vehicle Information that was entered comes back from Vehicle Inspection Database (VID)
• Verify this information is the correct vehicle
• Return to previous screen if it is incorrect
• Click Continue
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Visual Tampering Inspection and Dynamometer Testing page
• Inspector needs to enter Visual Tampering Inspection results
• Inspector needs to enter Dynamometer Testing results
• Inspector needs to enter Inspection Fee
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Visual Tampering Inspection and Dynamometer Testing
• Inspector entered Tampering and Dynamometer results
• Inspector entered Inspection fee
• Click Finalize Test

•89



Special Instructions

Test Finalized
Click to Print VIR
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VIR is now in the Vehicle Information Database (VID)
• The customer can now register their vehicle
• Don’t forget Nevada law requires the opacity printout to be attached to the VIR
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A failed test can help a customer in three ways.
1. 10-day movement permit (if registration is almost expired).
2. It starts the waiver procedure, should it be needed.
3. It makes a challenge test available to the customer at the lab, in the case that the 

customer thinks the test wasn’t performed properly, or results were inaccurate.

A waiver permits registration of a vehicle that still doesn’t pass the emission test after repairs.
Only the Department may grant a waiver under the provisions of NAC 445B.590, Waiver of 
standards for emissions. 
The Department will deny an application for a waiver if the parts have not been installed or the 
repairs were not directly toward the area of failure.
Minimum requirements for a waiver:
A minimum of $750 in repairs, parts and labor, to diagnose and correct the problem, when 
performed at a repair facility, or $500 in receipts for installed parts if repairs are performed by 
the owner.
A vehicle under a warranty covering the affected components is not eligible for a waiver.
Repairs made to required emission devices and repairs done to systems not directly related to the 
emission failure will not count toward the minimum expenditures
Waiver applications must be submitted by the customer at the local Emission Control Lab, and must 
include; 
1. The failing vehicle
2. The initial failing emission test
3. Receipts documenting the repairs that did not fix the vehicle
4. The second failing emission test.

The issuance of a waiver is not guaranteed and there are no waivers for tamper failures.
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Emission Control Lab

702-486-4981

Smoking vehicle hotline

702-642-7664 (SMOG)
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Emission Lab

775-684-3580

Smoking vehicle hotline

775-686-7664 (SMOG)
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True – False questions

50 – 50 chance if you just guess!

Usually one is opposite of the other.

Probably hinges on one word or phrase.

You just need to prove it wrong, that is easier than proving it right!

Tech A vs. Tech B questions

These look dangerous and complicated, after all there are usually two long statements you have
to read through, but really these are almost as simple as True False. OK they are as easy as
TWO True false question. That is what they are!

Read Tech A first and realize he is either right or wrong so his statement is either True or False!

Do not read the other techs statement until you decide on Tech A. Then do the same with Tech
B’s statement, it is either True or false!

The answers will be:

(a) Tech A only

(b) Tech B only

(c) Both Tech A and Tech B.

(d) Neither tech A nor Tech B
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1. There is to be no marking in the test booklets. Each will be checked and any marks
found will result in invalidating that applicants examination and they will be required
to reschedule and retake the class and test. If your test booklet is marked in,
immediately bring it to the instructors attention, so that you will not be penalized.

2. Read all instructions in the test booklet, all provided information is available for
reference, this is an open book test.

3. Be sure to look up any item that is possible to look up, NAC, NRS, exhibits, your
workbook, Etc.

4. Take your time, don’t assume your recollection of the material is correct, some
questions are meant only to test your’ ability to look things up and determine what
means are best to do this. The answers may be identical, except for one or two
words.

The instructor may not assist you in answering a question, however they may assist 
you in understanding a question.
Security rules: 
1) Cell phones are to be placed in silent or meeting mode and stay in your pocket or 
phone case.  You may not place or accept phone calls during testing.  You may not 
send or receive text messages during the test session. If a call comes in that you 
feel you must accept, turn in your paperwork and reschedule the class and exam.  
2) No looking at another's answers, they are probably worse than yours anyway. If 
you are observed either looking at another's answers or showing another your 
answers you will be failed and must reschedule. 
3) No talking during the test, if caught you will be failed and must reschedule.

Security rules

Scoring

Reporting


